Planets Zodiac

Understanding The Main Astrological Meanings of The Seven Planets

Whenever a planet goes retrograde, or the moon is influenced by a planetary energy, do you ever wonder—what are these energies that the planets are bringing? I once heard that studying astrology requires a lifetime, but if you would like to know the basics, the knowledge about the main meanings of each planet in our solar system will really enhance your understanding.Planets Signs

Not counting the Earth (or Pluto, which has lost its official title as a planet not long ago)—there are seven planets around our sun. They are: Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.

Each carries a specific and very different energy than the rest of them. Here is a quick overview of each.

Cosmos is a Greek word for the order of the universe. It is, in a way, the opposite of Chaos. It implies the deep interconnectedness of all things.It conveys awe for the intricate and subtle way in which the universe is put together.” – Carl Sagan

Mercury – The Planet of Communication

Most people now know when Mercury goes retrograde because of how many miscommunications happen—both with other people and electronic machines. Mercury rules communication, intellect, and reason.

This planet rules Gemini and Virgo signs, so those who are born under these signs have a harder time during Mercury retrograde.

Ruling Number: 4
Associated Tarot Card: The Magician
God: Magician Hermes
Sacred Animal: Hawk

Planets VenusVenus – The Planet of Love and Beauty

Venus just like the Goddess Aphrodite symbolizes love, relationships, beauty and art, and attraction. Venus rules over Taurus and Libra.

This planet wants you to enjoy the beauty and simple pleasures in life, to take its time and enjoy socializing with others.

Ruling Number: 6
Associated Tarot Card: The Lovers
God: Goddess of Love
Sacred Animal: Dove and Rabbit

Mars – The Planet of Action

Mars has a very masculine energy that is driven, action-oriented, and aggressive at times, competitive, and also courageous and extremely passionate. It rules over goal-oriented Aries.

Ruling Number: 3
Associated Tarot Card: The Tower
God: God of War
Sacred Animal: Wolf

Planets JupiterJupiter – The Planet of Growth

Jupiter is the planet of growth and expansion, which also symbolizes luck, optimism, and abundance. It rules over Sagittarius. This planet can help find you a purpose in life.

Ruling Number: 5
Associated Tarot Card: Wheel of Flow
God: The King of Gods
Sacred Animal: Eagle

Saturn – The Planet of Discipline

Saturn is the planet which energy brings the most lessons. Whether it is your Saturn return that happens roughly every 28 years of your life, or Saturn is retrograde, it will likely point out to where you are lacking in your responsibilities and make you step up your game and often ‘grow up.’ It also symbolizes laws and structures, and it rules over Capricorn.

Ruling Number: 7
Associated Tarot Card: The Crown
God: Greek God of Time Cronus
Sacred Animal: Snake or Dragon

Planets UranusUranus – The Planet of Rebellion

Uranus is Saturn’s opposite. This planet is all about breaking the rules, being eccentric, and rebelling again, well, anything and everything. Uranus symbolizes unpredictable change and rules over Aquarius.

Ruling Number: 8
Associated Tarot Card: The Fool
God: Sky God
Sacred Animal: Bull

Neptune – The Planet of Dreams

Neptune is both mystic and dreamy. Spiritually, this planet brings strong intuition, dream messages, and shows you your mystical side. It also helps boost creativity and increase the powers of imagination. It rules over the dreamy Pisces.

Ruling Number: 9
Associated Tarot Card: The Hanged Man
God: God of the Sea
Sacred Animal: Dolphin



Join the Community, and Share the Love!


Katalina Aster

Katalina is a writer, community builder, and changemaker. Her journalism background, coupled with a passion for creating global change, allows her to write articles on a variety of cutting edge topics related to health, spirituality, higher consciousness, and human connection. Since childhood, a sequence of events and new beliefs all came together to open a new path for her. This led her to learning about astrology, crystal healing, metaphysics, numerology, Tarot readings and new age philosophies. Using these philosophies and knowledge, Katalina hopes to inspire others to find their way to happiness, loving conscious relationships, and feeling more connected to the universe.

1 Response

  1. Wanica says:

    You forgot Scorpio which is ruled by Pluto and why astrologers still consider it a planet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.